Home/Catalog/COA Exam
SummitCert
COA Exam
Healthcare & Nursing

Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) Examination — International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO)

The Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) exam from IJCAHPO tests the core skills of ophthalmic assistants across 22 content areas, from history taking and visual assessment to tonometry, pharmacology, imaging and patient services. Passing it shows an employer you have met a recognized standard. SummitCert's portal offers explained practice questions, flashcards, a timed 200-question mock, a glossary and progress tracking by content area.

Try a free sample I have a code

One-time purchase · lifetime access · study on any device

Everything included — in full detail

This is exactly what you unlock. No vague promises — real numbers, straight from the portal.

350+ exam-style practice questions quiz pool

Your full practice pool — 350 questions total, written to mirror the real exam blueprint, with full answer explanations for every question.

22 exam domains covered

Including History and Documentation, Visual Assessment, Visual Field Testing, and more.

Full mock exam — 200 questions, 180-min timed

A complete, realistic exam-day simulation with the same question count and time limit as the real thing.

1000+ flashcards

Covering every key term, concept, and framework you're expected to know.

177+ curated video lessons

Hand-picked walkthroughs and explainers organized by topic.

46+ diagrams & visual references

Visual breakdowns of the frameworks and models the exam tests you on.

16+ key formulas & quick-reference sheet

The exact formulas and calculations you need, ready to review before test day.

147+ term glossary

A searchable glossary so unfamiliar terminology never slows you down.

Progress tracking & study planner

See your accuracy by domain, spot weak areas early, and follow a built-in study schedule.

Sage — your personalized AI study companion

Tailored to this exam: it knows your progress and weak areas, remembers your earlier chats, and picks up where you left off on your other devices.

Works on phone, tablet & desktop

Study anywhere — your progress syncs on the device you are using and picks up where you left off.

Lifetime access, one-time purchase

No subscriptions, no renewals — buy once and keep studying until you pass.

See the COA Exam portal

Real screenshots — this is exactly what you'll be studying in. Click to zoom in.

How would you like to start?

Try before you buy, or jump straight into full access.

Try a free sample

No purchase needed — try real flashcards, a quiz, or a mock exam right now.

Try it free

Topics you'll drill

8 core topics pulled straight from the real question bank.

  • History and Documentation
  • Visual Assessment
  • Visual Field Testing
  • Pupil Assessment
  • Tonometry
  • Keratometry
  • Lensometry
  • Biometry

COA Exam exam requirements & cost

Straight from the certifying body — separate from what we charge for the study portal.

Eligibility
IJCAHPO offers three pathways: graduation from an accredited clinical training program, graduation from a non-clinical program plus 500 supervised hours, or work experience of 1,000 supervised hours plus an approved independent study course; confirm the current rules
Real exam cost
IJCAHPO publishes the COA fee in its fee schedule; confirm the current amount before you apply
Format
200 multiple-choice questions · 180 minutes · computer-based at Pearson VUE · pass/fail with a performance report · content areas effective 8/1/2025

The IJCAHPO COA page describes a 200-question, 180-minute computer-based multiple-choice examination delivered at Pearson VUE test centers. The COA examination content areas (effective August 1, 2025) are weighted History and Documentation 9%, Visual Assessment 7%, Visual Field Testing 6%, Pupil Assessment 7%, Tonometry 7%, Keratometry 2%, Lensometry 3%, Biometry 3%, Diagnostic Ultrasound 2%, Supplemental Testing 3%, Microbiology 2%, Pharmacology 6%, Surgical Assisting 3%, Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education 8%, Optics and Spectacles 2%, Contact Lenses 2%, Equipment Maintenance and Repair 2%, Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues 4%, General Medical Knowledge 8%, Refraction 5%, Ophthalmic Imaging 5% and Ocular Motility Testing 4%. IJCAHPO reports the result as pass or fail with a performance report by assessment area; the actual score is not reported. The IJCAHPO page says an application for retest must be received within 12 months of the initial examination. IJCAHPO reports the result only as pass or fail, with a performance report by assessment area, and does not report a score. The percent score in the portal mock is only a self-check. IJCAHPO lists the COA fee in a separate fee schedule that was not part of the sources used for this guide, so no figure is quoted. Confirm the current fee with IJCAHPO before you apply. The content outline spreads questions across 22 areas; the largest are History and Documentation (9.0%); Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education (8.0%); General Medical Knowledge (8.0%). The full list of areas and weights is on the portal exam page. IJCAHPO offers three pathways: graduation from an accredited clinical training program, graduation from a non-clinical program plus 500 supervised hours, or work experience of 1,000 supervised hours plus an approved independent study course; confirm the current rules. The portal is a practice aid built on the published content areas: it is not a copy of the exam and it does not predict your result.

COA Exam exam blueprint

Real domain weighting from the certifying body's own published exam syllabus.

  • History and Documentation9%
  • Visual Assessment7%
  • Visual Field Testing6%
  • Pupil Assessment7%
  • Tonometry7%
  • Keratometry2%
  • Lensometry3%
  • Biometry3%
  • Diagnostic Ultrasound2%
  • Supplemental Testing3%
  • Microbiology2%
  • Pharmacology6%
  • Surgical Assisting3%
  • Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education8%
  • Optics and Spectacles2%
  • Contact Lenses2%
  • Equipment Maintenance and Repair2%
  • Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues4%
  • General Medical Knowledge8%
  • Refraction5%
  • Ophthalmic Imaging5%
  • Ocular Motility Testing4%
Last verified: October 2026·Exam blueprint: Compiled on November 2, 2026 from the IJCAHPO COA examination content areas (effective 8/1/2025) and the IJCAHPO Certified Ophthalmic Assistant page.·Primary source: IJCAHPO: Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) ↗
Read the full pass rate & study guide

Real pass rate, retake policy, scoring, and a study timeline for COA Exam — free, no purchase required.

Common questions

The IJCAHPO COA page describes a 200-question, 180-minute computer-based multiple-choice examination delivered at Pearson VUE test centers. The COA examination content areas (effective August 1, 2025) are weighted History and Documentation 9%, Visual Assessment 7%, Visual Field Testing 6%, Pupil Assessment 7%, Tonometry 7%, Keratometry 2%, Lensometry 3%, Biometry 3%, Diagnostic Ultrasound 2%, Supplemental Testing 3%, Microbiology 2%, Pharmacology 6%, Surgical Assisting 3%, Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education 8%, Optics and Spectacles 2%, Contact Lenses 2%, Equipment Maintenance and Repair 2%, Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues 4%, General Medical Knowledge 8%, Refraction 5%, Ophthalmic Imaging 5% and Ocular Motility Testing 4%. IJCAHPO reports the result as pass or fail with a performance report by assessment area; the actual score is not reported. Format: 200 multiple-choice questions in 180 minutes on computer; the portal mock uses 200 questions in 180 minutes.

You might also need

Try a free sample first