COA Exam Pass Rate, Format & Study Guide
A real reference for anyone preparing for the Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) Examination — International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO) exam — pass rate, retake policy, how it's scored, and a practical study timeline. This is independent reference content, not a sales page: everything below is sourced from COA Exam's own certifying body.
What the COA Exam exam is
The IJCAHPO COA page describes a 200-question, 180-minute computer-based multiple-choice examination delivered at Pearson VUE test centers. The COA examination content areas (effective August 1, 2025) are weighted History and Documentation 9%, Visual Assessment 7%, Visual Field Testing 6%, Pupil Assessment 7%, Tonometry 7%, Keratometry 2%, Lensometry 3%, Biometry 3%, Diagnostic Ultrasound 2%, Supplemental Testing 3%, Microbiology 2%, Pharmacology 6%, Surgical Assisting 3%, Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education 8%, Optics and Spectacles 2%, Contact Lenses 2%, Equipment Maintenance and Repair 2%, Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues 4%, General Medical Knowledge 8%, Refraction 5%, Ophthalmic Imaging 5% and Ocular Motility Testing 4%. IJCAHPO reports the result as pass or fail with a performance report by assessment area; the actual score is not reported. The IJCAHPO page says an application for retest must be received within 12 months of the initial examination.
Why it matters
The COA is IJCAHPO's entry-level certification for ophthalmic assistants and shows an employer that you have met a recognized standard.
Who this exam is for
Ophthalmic assistants and trainees preparing for the IJCAHPO COA examination.
Pass rate
The certifying body does not publicly publish an official pass rate for this exam. Be wary of third-party sites citing a specific number here — treat any pass-rate claim you see elsewhere for this exam as unverified.
If you don't pass — retake policy
The IJCAHPO page says an application for retest must be received within 12 months of the initial examination; confirm the current retest fee and rules with IJCAHPO.
How it's scored
IJCAHPO reports the result only as pass or fail, with a performance report by assessment area, and does not report a score. The percent score in the portal mock is only a self-check. Format: 200 multiple-choice questions in 180 minutes on computer; the portal mock uses 200 questions in 180 minutes. No official pass rate is available for this exam, so none is quoted here.
Format at a glance
The IJCAHPO COA page describes a 200-question, 180-minute computer-based multiple-choice examination delivered at Pearson VUE test centers. The COA examination content areas (effective August 1, 2025) are weighted History and Documentation 9%, Visual Assessment 7%, Visual Field Testing 6%, Pupil Assessment 7%, Tonometry 7%, Keratometry 2%, Lensometry 3%, Biometry 3%, Diagnostic Ultrasound 2%, Supplemental Testing 3%, Microbiology 2%, Pharmacology 6%, Surgical Assisting 3%, Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education 8%, Optics and Spectacles 2%, Contact Lenses 2%, Equipment Maintenance and Repair 2%, Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues 4%, General Medical Knowledge 8%, Refraction 5%, Ophthalmic Imaging 5% and Ocular Motility Testing 4%. IJCAHPO reports the result as pass or fail with a performance report by assessment area; the actual score is not reported. The IJCAHPO page says an application for retest must be received within 12 months of the initial examination. 200 multiple-choice questions · 180 minutes · computer-based at Pearson VUE · pass/fail with a performance report · content areas effective 8/1/2025. IJCAHPO reports the result only as pass or fail, with a performance report by assessment area, and does not report a score. The percent score in the portal mock is only a self-check.
- History and Documentation9%
- Visual Assessment7%
- Visual Field Testing6%
- Pupil Assessment7%
- Tonometry7%
- Keratometry2%
- Lensometry3%
- Biometry3%
- Diagnostic Ultrasound2%
- Supplemental Testing3%
- Microbiology2%
- Pharmacology6%
- Surgical Assisting3%
- Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education8%
- Optics and Spectacles2%
- Contact Lenses2%
- Equipment Maintenance and Repair2%
- Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues4%
- General Medical Knowledge8%
- Refraction5%
- Ophthalmic Imaging5%
- Ocular Motility Testing4%
Full eligibility requirements and everything the COA Exam study portal includes is on the COA Exam product page.
What each domain actually tests
The content outline spreads questions across 22 areas: History and Documentation (9.0%); Visual Assessment (7.0%); Visual Field Testing (6.0%); Pupil Assessment (7.0%); Tonometry (7.0%); Keratometry (2.0%); Lensometry (3.0%); Biometry (3.0%); Diagnostic Ultrasound (2.0%); Supplemental Testing (3.0%); Microbiology (2.0%); Pharmacology (6.0%); Surgical Assisting (3.0%); Ophthalmic Patient Services and Education (8.0%); Optics and Spectacles (2.0%); Contact Lenses (2.0%); Equipment Maintenance and Repair (2.0%); Medical Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Issues (4.0%); General Medical Knowledge (8.0%); Refraction (5.0%); Ophthalmic Imaging (5.0%); Ocular Motility Testing (4.0%).
Eligibility requirements, in full
IJCAHPO lists three pathways. COA-A1 is graduation from an accredited program at the Clinical Assistant level. COA-A2 is graduation from an accredited Non-Clinical Assistant program plus 500 hours under an ophthalmologist's supervision within 12 months before applying. COA-A3 is high school graduation or equivalent, an approved independent study course and 1,000 supervised hours within 12 months before applying. Read the current requirements before you apply.
What it actually costs
IJCAHPO publishes its fees in a separate fee schedule, which was not part of the sources used here, so no amount is quoted. Confirm the current fee with IJCAHPO.
Keeping the credential — maintenance & recertification
IJCAHPO sets the recertification and continuing-education rules for people who hold its certifications; check the current rules on the IJCAHPO site.
How to actually prepare
Start with history and documentation, patient services, general medical knowledge and the testing areas that carry 6-7% each, then cover the small technical areas, and finish with timed 200-question runs.
What's changing (2026)
This guide follows the IJCAHPO COA examination content areas effective August 1, 2025 and the IJCAHPO COA page, checked November 2, 2026. Fees and policies can change, so confirm them with IJCAHPO.
Want a full practice question bank built around this exact format?
See the COA Exam study portalTry a free sample first: Flashcards · Quiz · Mock Exam