Home/Catalog/NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam
SummitCert
NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam
Healthcare & Nursing

Acupuncture with Point Location (ACPL) Exam — National Certification Board for Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine (NCBAHM, formerly NCCAOM)

The Acupuncture with Point Location (ACPL) exam is the acupuncture certification exam from the National Certification Board for Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine (NCBAHM, formerly NCCAOM), covering point location, safety, treatment planning and treatment techniques. The real exam is computer adaptive, with 100 multiple-choice questions in two and a half hours and a scaled score where 70 passes. SummitCert's portal gives you explained practice questions, flashcards, a fixed 100-question timed mock exam and progress tracking by domain.

Try a free sample I have a code

One-time purchase · lifetime access · study on any device

Everything included — in full detail

This is exactly what you unlock. No vague promises — real numbers, straight from the portal.

350+ exam-style practice questions quiz pool

Your full practice pool — 350 questions total, written to mirror the real exam blueprint, with full answer explanations for every question.

4 exam domains covered

Including Acupuncture Point Location, Safety for Acupuncture Practice, Treatment Planning, and more.

Full mock exam — 100 questions, 150-min timed

A complete, realistic exam-day simulation with the same question count and time limit as the real thing.

1000+ flashcards

Covering every key term, concept, and framework you're expected to know.

187+ curated video lessons

Hand-picked walkthroughs and explainers organized by topic.

32+ diagrams & visual references

Visual breakdowns of the frameworks and models the exam tests you on.

17+ key formulas & quick-reference sheet

The exact formulas and calculations you need, ready to review before test day.

123+ term glossary

A searchable glossary so unfamiliar terminology never slows you down.

Progress tracking & study planner

See your accuracy by domain, spot weak areas early, and follow a built-in study schedule.

Sage — your personalized AI study companion

Tailored to this exam: it knows your progress and weak areas, remembers your earlier chats, and picks up where you left off on your other devices.

Works on phone, tablet & desktop

Study anywhere — your progress syncs on the device you are using and picks up where you left off.

Lifetime access, one-time purchase

No subscriptions, no renewals — buy once and keep studying until you pass.

See the NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam portal

Real screenshots — this is exactly what you'll be studying in. Click to zoom in.

How would you like to start?

Try before you buy, or jump straight into full access.

Try a free sample

No purchase needed — try real flashcards, a quiz, or a mock exam right now.

Try it free

Topics you'll drill

4 core topics pulled straight from the real question bank.

  • Acupuncture Point Location
  • Safety for Acupuncture Practice
  • Treatment Planning
  • Treatment Techniques

NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam exam requirements & cost

Straight from the certifying body — separate from what we charge for the study portal.

Eligibility
Set by NCBAHM for its acupuncture certification pathway; see the Candidate Preparation Handbook for eligibility, required exam modules and application steps
Real exam cost
Not stated in the handbook; confirm the current exam fees on the NCBAHM website
Format
100 multiple-choice questions · computer adaptive format · 2.5 hours · English only · scaled score 1-99, 70 passes · Pearson VUE test centers

The NCBAHM handbook (updated May 2026) says the Acupuncture with Point Location exam is given in English in a computer adaptive format: 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2.5-hour time limit, where each answer determines the next question and you cannot skip questions or return to earlier ones. Scaled scores range from 1 to 99 with 70 designated as the passing score; they are not the percentage of questions answered correctly, and because each candidate sees a unique set of questions the scaled score allows the same passing standard to apply to everyone. The ACPL content outline in force from September 1, 2026 (based on the 2024 job analysis) has four domains: Acupuncture Point Location 15 percent, Safety for Acupuncture Practice 15, Treatment Planning 40 and Treatment Techniques 30. NCBAHM reports a scaled score from 1 to 99 and sets 70 as the passing score. Because the exam is adaptive there is no fixed number of correct answers, so the portal mock shows a percent score only as a rough self-check. The NCBAHM handbook does not state the exam fee; confirm the current ACPL fee and any application fees on the NCBAHM website before you register. The content outline spreads questions across 4 areas; the largest are Treatment Planning (40.0%); Treatment Techniques (30.0%); Acupuncture Point Location (15.0%). The full list of areas and weights is on the portal exam page. Set by NCBAHM for its acupuncture certification pathway; see the Candidate Preparation Handbook for eligibility, required exam modules and application steps.

NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam exam blueprint

Real domain weighting from the certifying body's own published exam syllabus.

  • Acupuncture Point Location15%
  • Safety for Acupuncture Practice15%
  • Treatment Planning40%
  • Treatment Techniques30%
Last verified: October 2026·Exam blueprint: Verified on October 29, 2026 against the NCBAHM 2026 Candidate Preparation Handbook, updated May 2026 (adaptive format, 100 questions, 2.5 hours, scaled score 1-99 with 70 passing, 45-day retake wait, five opportunities) and the NCBAHM ACPL Exam Content Outline effective September 1, 2026 (four domains). The exam fee is not stated there and is not quoted.·Primary source: NCBAHM: 2026 Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine Candidate Preparation Handbook (PDF) ↗
Read the full pass rate & study guide

Real pass rate, retake policy, scoring, and a study timeline for NCCAOM Acupuncture (ACPL) Exam — free, no purchase required.

Common questions

The NCBAHM handbook (updated May 2026) says the Acupuncture with Point Location exam is given in English in a computer adaptive format: 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2.5-hour time limit, where each answer determines the next question and you cannot skip questions or return to earlier ones. Scaled scores range from 1 to 99 with 70 designated as the passing score; they are not the percentage of questions answered correctly, and because each candidate sees a unique set of questions the scaled score allows the same passing standard to apply to everyone. The ACPL content outline in force from September 1, 2026 (based on the 2024 job analysis) has four domains: Acupuncture Point Location 15 percent, Safety for Acupuncture Practice 15, Treatment Planning 40 and Treatment Techniques 30. Format: the real exam is adaptive with 100 questions in 2.5 hours; the portal mock is a fixed set of 100 questions in 150 minutes, so it matches the length and pace but not the adaptive selection.

You might also need

Try a free sample first