ARDMS OB/GYN Exam Pass Rate, Format & Study Guide
A real reference for anyone preparing for the Obstetrics and Gynecology (OB/GYN) Examination — American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) exam — pass rate, retake policy, how it's scored, and a practical study timeline. This is independent reference content, not a sales page: everything below is sourced from ARDMS OB/GYN Exam's own certifying body.
What the ARDMS OB/GYN Exam exam is
The Inteleos page for the OB/GYN exam describes about 170 questions over three hours. The ARDMS OB/GYN content outline (version 24.1) has five areas: Gynecology - Pelvic Anatomy and Physiology (19%), Obstetrics - First Trimester (12%), Obstetrics - Second/Third Trimester (37%), Protocols and Procedures (24%) and Physics and Instrumentation (8%). Questions are multiple choice and hotspot (mark directly on an image). ARDMS sets the passing standard with expert-judgment methods and re-evaluates it periodically; the page reviewed for this guide does not state a numeric cut score. The OB/GYN exam costs US$300 on the Inteleos exam page.
Why it matters
The OB/GYN exam is one of the specialty exams ARDMS offers toward its sonography credentials.
Who this exam is for
Sonography students and working sonographers preparing for the ARDMS OB/GYN specialty exam.
Pass rate
The certifying body does not publicly publish an official pass rate for this exam. Be wary of third-party sites citing a specific number here — treat any pass-rate claim you see elsewhere for this exam as unverified.
If you don't pass — retake policy
If you do not pass, the Inteleos page says you can reapply after three days but must wait 60 days before retaking the exam.
How it's scored
ARDMS sets the passing standard with content-expert judgment and re-evaluates it about every five years. The sources used for this guide do not state a numeric cut score, so the percent score in the portal mock is only a self-check. Format: about 170 questions in 3 hours, multiple choice and hotspot; the portal mock uses 170 multiple-choice questions in 180 minutes, and hotspot items are not simulated. No official pass rate is available for this exam, so none is quoted here.
Format at a glance
The Inteleos page for the OB/GYN exam describes about 170 questions over three hours. The ARDMS OB/GYN content outline (version 24.1) has five areas: Gynecology - Pelvic Anatomy and Physiology (19%), Obstetrics - First Trimester (12%), Obstetrics - Second/Third Trimester (37%), Protocols and Procedures (24%) and Physics and Instrumentation (8%). Questions are multiple choice and hotspot (mark directly on an image). ARDMS sets the passing standard with expert-judgment methods and re-evaluates it periodically; the page reviewed for this guide does not state a numeric cut score. The OB/GYN exam costs US$300 on the Inteleos exam page. About 170 questions · 3 hours · multiple choice and hotspot items · content outline v24.1. ARDMS sets the passing standard with content-expert judgment and re-evaluates it about every five years. The sources used for this guide do not state a numeric cut score, so the percent score in the portal mock is only a self-check.
- Gynecology - Pelvic Anatomy and Physiology19%
- Obstetrics - First Trimester12%
- Obstetrics - Second/Third Trimester37%
- Protocols and Procedures24%
- Physics and Instrumentation8%
Full eligibility requirements and everything the ARDMS OB/GYN Exam study portal includes is on the ARDMS OB/GYN Exam product page.
What each domain actually tests
The content outline spreads questions across 5 areas: Gynecology - Pelvic Anatomy and Physiology (19.0%); Obstetrics - First Trimester (12.0%); Obstetrics - Second/Third Trimester (37.0%); Protocols and Procedures (24.0%); Physics and Instrumentation (8.0%).
Eligibility requirements, in full
Inteleos publishes the prerequisites for each ARDMS exam on a separate prerequisites page. Read the current prerequisites for the OB/GYN exam before you apply.
What it actually costs
The Inteleos OB/GYN exam page lists US$300 for the exam. The SPI exam is a separate exam with its own fee, which is not included here.
Keeping the credential — maintenance & recertification
ARDMS sets the continuing-education and renewal rules for people who hold its credentials; check the current rules on the Inteleos site.
How to actually prepare
Start with second and third trimester obstetrics, then protocols and procedures, pelvic anatomy, first-trimester obstetrics and physics, and finish with timed 170-question runs.
What's changing (2026)
This guide follows the ARDMS OB/GYN content outline version 24.1 and the Inteleos OB/GYN exam page, checked November 2, 2026. Fees and policies can change, so confirm them with Inteleos.
Want a full practice question bank built around this exact format?
See the ARDMS OB/GYN Exam study portalTry a free sample first: Flashcards · Quiz · Mock Exam