Series 7 Exam Pass Rate, Format & Study Guide
A real reference for anyone preparing for the Series 7 General Securities Representative Qualification Examination — FINRA exam — pass rate, retake policy, how it's scored, and a practical study timeline. This is independent reference content, not a sales page: everything below is sourced from Series 7 Exam's own certifying body.
What the Series 7 Exam exam is
The Series 7 exam has 125 questions and you have 3 hours and 45 minutes; FINRA lists a passing score of 72 (FINRA Series 7 exam page). Candidates must pass both the Series 7 exam and the SIE exam to obtain the General Securities registration, and must be sponsored by a FINRA member firm to take the Series 7 (FINRA). The FINRA content outline (2025) weights four job functions: seeking business from customers and potential customers 7 percent, opening accounts 9 percent, providing customers with information about investments and making recommendations 73 percent, and processing transactions 11 percent.
Why it matters
The Series 7 is the main qualification exam for registered representatives who sell a broad range of securities products, and registration also needs the SIE and a sponsoring firm.
Who this exam is for
New and prospective registered representatives, financial advisors and brokerage trainees whose firm will sponsor them.
Pass rate
The certifying body does not publicly publish an official pass rate for this exam. Be wary of third-party sites citing a specific number here — treat any pass-rate claim you see elsewhere for this exam as unverified.
If you don't pass — retake policy
FINRA lists retake waiting periods of 30 days after the first and second unsuccessful attempts and 180 days after the third; from January 19, 2027 these change to 15 days after the first and second attempts and 60 days after the third. Check FINRA before you rebook.
How it's scored
FINRA lists a passing score of 72 but does not state the scale on its exam page, so the portal mock shows 72 percent only as a self-check for this practice set. Format: 125 questions in 3 hours and 45 minutes. No official pass rate is available for this exam, so none is quoted here.
Format at a glance
The Series 7 exam has 125 questions and you have 3 hours and 45 minutes; FINRA lists a passing score of 72 (FINRA Series 7 exam page). Candidates must pass both the Series 7 exam and the SIE exam to obtain the General Securities registration, and must be sponsored by a FINRA member firm to take the Series 7 (FINRA). The FINRA content outline (2025) weights four job functions: seeking business from customers and potential customers 7 percent, opening accounts 9 percent, providing customers with information about investments and making recommendations 73 percent, and processing transactions 11 percent. 125 questions · 3 hours 45 minutes · passing score 72. FINRA lists a passing score of 72 but does not state the scale on its exam page, so the portal mock shows 72 percent only as a self-check for this practice set.
- Seeks Business for the Broker-Dealer from Customers and Potential Customers7%
- Opens Accounts After Obtaining and Evaluating Customers' Financial Profile and Investment Objectives9%
- Provides Customers with Information About Investments, Makes Recommendations, Transfers Assets and Maintains Appropriate Records73%
- Obtains and Verifies Customers' Purchase and Sales Instructions and Agreements; Processes, Completes and Confirms Transactions11%
Full eligibility requirements and everything the Series 7 Exam study portal includes is on the Series 7 Exam product page.
What each domain actually tests
The content outline spreads questions across 4 areas: Seeks Business for the Broker-Dealer from Customers and Potential Customers (7.0%); Opens Accounts After Obtaining and Evaluating Customers' Financial Profile and Investment Objectives (9.0%); Provides Customers with Information About Investments, Makes Recommendations, Transfers Assets and Maintains Appropriate Records (73.0%); Obtains and Verifies Customers' Purchase and Sales Instructions and Agreements; Processes, Completes and Confirms Transactions (11.0%).
Eligibility requirements, in full
FINRA requires association with and sponsorship by a member firm to sit the Series 7, and passing the SIE is a corequisite for the General Securities registration.
What it actually costs
$395 for the Series 7 as listed by FINRA; the SIE and any state fees are separate.
Keeping the credential — maintenance & recertification
The FINRA exam page does not state a validity period for the Series 7 result; confirm the registration and continuing education rules with FINRA and your firm.
How to actually prepare
Start with the heaviest areas of the content outline: Provides Customers with Information About Investments, Makes Recommendations, Transfers Assets and Maintains Appropriate Records (73.0%); Obtains and Verifies Customers' Purchase and Sales Instructions and Agreements; Processes, Completes and Confirms Transactions (11.0%); Opens Accounts After Obtaining and Evaluating Customers' Financial Profile and Investment Objectives (9.0%). Then work through the remaining areas, and finish with timed full-length practice runs of 125 questions in one sitting.
What's changing (2026)
FINRA updated the Series 7 content outline in October 2025 and has announced shorter retake waiting periods from January 19, 2027. This guide follows the FINRA pages listed under Verification as of October 2026.
Want a full practice question bank built around this exact format?
See the Series 7 Exam study portalTry a free sample first: Flashcards · Quiz · Mock Exam