Free study guide — no purchase required

Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test Pass Rate, Format & Study Guide

A real reference for anyone preparing for the Ohio Motorcycle Knowledge Test (Temporary Instruction Permit) — Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles exam — pass rate, retake policy, how it's scored, and a practical study timeline. This is independent reference content, not a sales page: everything below is sourced from Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test's own certifying body.

What the Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test exam is

The Ohio BMV requires a motorcycle or motor scooter knowledge test for a motorcycle temporary instruction permit; applicants must be at least 15 years and six months old. Adults holding a valid Ohio driver license may take the knowledge test online through BMV Online Services; others test at a driver exam station. The BMV does not publish the number of questions, time limit or passing score; this portal's practice set has 25 questions, which is our own design.

Why it matters

Passing the knowledge test lets you buy a motorcycle temporary instruction permit, the first step toward a motorcycle endorsement in Ohio.

Who this exam is for

New riders in Ohio, including teens from 15 and a half, preparing for the motorcycle permit test.

Pass rate

The certifying body does not publicly publish an official pass rate for this exam. Be wary of third-party sites citing a specific number here — treat any pass-rate claim you see elsewhere for this exam as unverified.

If you don't pass — retake policy

Ask the Ohio BMV or your driver exam station about retesting after a failed knowledge test.

How it's scored

The Ohio BMV does not publish a passing score for the motorcycle knowledge test, so this guide does not state one. The practice set here is a study tool, not a prediction of your result. Format: the BMV does not publish the test length; this portal's practice set has 25 four-option questions. No official pass rate is available for this exam, so none is quoted here.

Format at a glance

Format: Motorcycle knowledge test at a driver exam station (adults with a valid Ohio license may test online) · the BMV does not publish the question count, time limit or passing score
Real exam cost: The BMV charges for the temporary instruction permit at the deputy registrar; confirm the current fee with the Ohio BMV

The Ohio BMV requires a motorcycle or motor scooter knowledge test for a motorcycle temporary instruction permit; applicants must be at least 15 years and six months old. Adults holding a valid Ohio driver license may take the knowledge test online through BMV Online Services; others test at a driver exam station. The BMV does not publish the number of questions, time limit or passing score; this portal's practice set has 25 questions, which is our own design. Motorcycle knowledge test at a driver exam station (adults with a valid Ohio license may test online) · the BMV does not publish the question count, time limit or passing score. The Ohio BMV does not publish a passing score for the motorcycle knowledge test, so this guide does not state one. The practice set here is a study tool, not a prediction of your result.

Full eligibility requirements and everything the Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test study portal includes is on the Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test product page.

What each domain actually tests

The BMV does not publish topic weights. The portal groups the Ohio Motorcycle Operator Manual into permits and courses, gear, vehicle control, lane position, seeing and being seen, crash avoidance, passengers and group riding, alcohol and OVI law, and three-wheel motorcycles.

Eligibility requirements, in full

You must be at least 15 years and six months old and bring proof of full legal name, date of birth and Social Security number (if ever assigned). After passing, buy the permit at a deputy registrar within 60 days.

What it actually costs

The permit fee is paid at the deputy registrar; confirm the current amount with the Ohio BMV.

Keeping the credential — maintenance & recertification

This guide does not cover the skills test or the endorsement; check the Ohio BMV and Motorcycle Ohio for the next steps.

How to actually prepare

Work through the exam topics one area at a time, finish with timed full-length practice runs of 25 questions in one sitting.

What's changing (2026)

Content outlines, fees and passing standards change; this guide follows the official documents listed under Verification as of October 2026. Check the Ohio BMV before you register.

Want a full practice question bank built around this exact format?

See the Ohio Motorcycle Permit Test study portal

Try a free sample first: Flashcards · Quiz · Mock Exam