Free study guide — no purchase required

CDA Exam Pass Rate, Format & Study Guide

A real reference for anyone preparing for the Child Development Associate (CDA) Credential Exam — Council for Professional Recognition exam — pass rate, retake policy, how it's scored, and a practical study timeline. This is independent reference content, not a sales page: everything below is sourced from CDA Exam's own certifying body.

What the CDA Exam exam is

The CDA Exam has 65 multiple-choice questions: 60 standard questions and 5 scenario questions built on a short narrative and photo, taken on computer at a Pearson VUE center (Council FAQ). The exam is one part of the CDA credential, together with the professional portfolio and a verification visit by a CDA professional development specialist. The Council does not publish the passing score; use the percentage in this portal as a self-check.

Why it matters

The CDA is a widely recognized credential for early childhood educators and is used by many programs and states for staff qualifications.

Who this exam is for

Early childhood educators in preschool, infant-toddler, family child care and home visitor settings.

Pass rate

The certifying body does not publicly publish an official pass rate for this exam. Be wary of third-party sites citing a specific number here — treat any pass-rate claim you see elsewhere for this exam as unverified.

If you don't pass — retake policy

Ask the Council about retake rules and fees if you do not pass the exam.

How it's scored

The Council for Professional Recognition does not publish a passing score for the CDA Exam, so this guide does not state one. The mock exam here is a study tool, not a prediction of your result. Format: 65 four-option multiple-choice questions, including 5 scenario questions. No official pass rate is available for this exam, so none is quoted here.

Format at a glance

Format: 65 multiple-choice questions (60 standard + 5 scenario questions with a short narrative and photo) · computer-based at Pearson VUE · point-and-click
Real exam cost: The CDA initial application costs $525 online or $600 on paper (Council for Professional Recognition, effective August 1, 2025)

The CDA Exam has 65 multiple-choice questions: 60 standard questions and 5 scenario questions built on a short narrative and photo, taken on computer at a Pearson VUE center (Council FAQ). The exam is one part of the CDA credential, together with the professional portfolio and a verification visit by a CDA professional development specialist. The Council does not publish the passing score; use the percentage in this portal as a self-check. 65 multiple-choice questions (60 standard + 5 scenario questions with a short narrative and photo) · computer-based at Pearson VUE · point-and-click. The Council for Professional Recognition does not publish a passing score for the CDA Exam, so this guide does not state one. The mock exam here is a study tool, not a prediction of your result.

Full eligibility requirements and everything the CDA Exam study portal includes is on the CDA Exam product page.

What each domain actually tests

The CDA Competency Standards group the work into 13 functional areas: safe, healthy, learning environment, physical, cognitive, communication, creative, self, social, guidance, families, program management and professionalism. The Council does not publish exam weights for them.

Eligibility requirements, in full

The Council sets the education, training-hour and experience requirements and the portfolio contents for each setting. Confirm them on the Council website before applying.

What it actually costs

$525 online or $600 paper initial application (effective August 1, 2025); $250 online renewal. Training costs are separate.

Keeping the credential — maintenance & recertification

The CDA credential must be renewed on the Council's cycle; renewal is $250 online.

How to actually prepare

Work through the exam topics one area at a time, finish with timed full-length practice runs of 65 questions in one sitting.

What's changing (2026)

Content outlines, fees and passing standards change; this guide follows the official documents listed under Verification as of October 2026. Check the Council for Professional Recognition before you register.

Want a full practice question bank built around this exact format?

See the CDA Exam study portal

Try a free sample first: Flashcards · Quiz · Mock Exam