Home/Catalog/ALEKS Math Placement
SummitCert
ALEKS Math Placement
Education & Public Service

ALEKS Math Placement Assessment (PPL) — McGraw Hill

The ALEKS Placement Assessment is an online adaptive math test that colleges use to place students into courses from basic math to calculus. It asks open-response questions, typed or built with an on-screen palette, in 25 questions or fewer across 314 topics, and reports a 0 to 100 score. SummitCert's portal is a study aid with practice questions and explanations, flashcards and progress tracking for the same topics; it cannot reproduce the adaptive, answer-entry format.

Try a free sample I have a code

One-time purchase · lifetime access · study on any device

Everything included — in full detail

This is exactly what you unlock. No vague promises — real numbers, straight from the portal.

345+ exam-style practice questions quiz pool

Your full practice pool — 345 questions total, written to mirror the real exam blueprint, with full answer explanations for every question.

11 exam domains covered

Including Whole Numbers, Fractions, and Decimals, Percents, Proportions, and Geometry, Signed Numbers, Linear Equations, and Inequalities, and more.

Full mock exam — 30 questions, 60-min timed

A complete, realistic exam-day simulation with the same question count and time limit as the real thing.

1000+ flashcards

Covering every key term, concept, and framework you're expected to know.

143+ curated video lessons

Hand-picked walkthroughs and explainers organized by topic.

46+ diagrams & visual references

Visual breakdowns of the frameworks and models the exam tests you on.

57+ key formulas & quick-reference sheet

The exact formulas and calculations you need, ready to review before test day.

136+ term glossary

A searchable glossary so unfamiliar terminology never slows you down.

Progress tracking & study planner

See your accuracy by domain, spot weak areas early, and follow a built-in study schedule.

Sage — your personalized AI study companion

Tailored to this exam: it knows your progress and weak areas, remembers your earlier chats, and picks up where you left off on your other devices.

Works on phone, tablet & desktop

Study anywhere — your progress syncs on the device you are using and picks up where you left off.

Lifetime access, one-time purchase

No subscriptions, no renewals — buy once and keep studying until you pass.

See the ALEKS Math Placement portal

Real screenshots — this is exactly what you'll be studying in. Click to zoom in.

How would you like to start?

Try before you buy, or jump straight into full access.

Try a free sample

No purchase needed — try real flashcards, a quiz, or a mock exam right now.

Try it free

Topics you'll drill

8 core topics pulled straight from the real question bank.

  • Whole Numbers, Fractions, and Decimals
  • Percents, Proportions, and Geometry
  • Signed Numbers, Linear Equations, and Inequalities
  • Lines and Systems of Linear Equations
  • Relations and Functions
  • Integer Exponents and Factoring
  • Quadratic and Polynomial Functions
  • Rational Expressions and Equations

ALEKS Math Placement exam requirements & cost

Straight from the certifying body — separate from what we charge for the study portal.

Eligibility
The college or program that requires ALEKS decides who must take it and how its score maps to courses; there is no national eligibility rule
Real exam cost
The fee is set by each institution and was not stated on the McGraw Hill page we read, so none is quoted
Format
Online adaptive assessment · 25 questions or fewer across 314 topics · open-response answers (no multiple-choice options) · score 0-100 · up to five attempts

The ALEKS Placement Assessment is an adaptive online test that determines a student's knowledge across 314 topics in 25 questions or fewer, and answers are open-response rather than multiple choice (McGraw Hill). The score from 0 to 100 reflects the share of topics the system judges you have mastered, and the institution maps score ranges to courses, so there is no national passing score; up to five assessment attempts are available. This portal is a study aid: its 30-question practice set is multiple choice and does not reproduce the adaptive, open-response format. There is no national passing score: the assessment reports a score from 0 to 100 and each institution maps score ranges to the math courses it offers. McGraw Hill's page does not state who sets the price or list an amount; institutions usually charge for the assessment and its learning module, so ask your college. The content outline spreads questions across 11 areas; the largest are Signed Numbers, Linear Equations, and Inequalities (11.0%); Lines and Systems of Linear Equations (10.0%); Quadratic and Polynomial Functions (10.0%). The full list of areas and weights is on the portal exam page. The college or program that requires ALEKS decides who must take it and how its score maps to courses; there is no national eligibility rule.

ALEKS Math Placement exam blueprint

Real domain weighting from the certifying body's own published exam syllabus.

  • Whole Numbers, Fractions, and Decimals8%
  • Percents, Proportions, and Geometry9%
  • Signed Numbers, Linear Equations, and Inequalities11%
  • Lines and Systems of Linear Equations10%
  • Relations and Functions9%
  • Integer Exponents and Factoring9%
  • Quadratic and Polynomial Functions10%
  • Rational Expressions and Equations9%
  • Radicals and Rational Exponents8%
  • Exponentials and Logarithms8%
  • Trigonometry9%
Last verified: October 2026·Exam blueprint: Verified on October 14, 2026: the adaptive, open-response format, 25-question limit, 314 topics and five attempts come from the McGraw Hill ALEKS Placement page; the topic weights are this portal's own grouping of the ALEKS topic map.·Primary source: McGraw Hill: ALEKS Placement, Preparation and Learning ↗
Read the full pass rate & study guide

Real pass rate, retake policy, scoring, and a study timeline for ALEKS Math Placement — free, no purchase required.

Common questions

The ALEKS Placement Assessment is an adaptive online test that determines a student's knowledge across 314 topics in 25 questions or fewer, and answers are open-response rather than multiple choice (McGraw Hill). The score from 0 to 100 reflects the share of topics the system judges you have mastered, and the institution maps score ranges to courses, so there is no national passing score; up to five assessment attempts are available. This portal is a study aid: its 30-question practice set is multiple choice and does not reproduce the adaptive, open-response format. Format: adaptive and open-response, 25 questions or fewer, with an on-screen answer palette and calculator tools.

You might also need

Try a free sample first